Keihanshin (京阪神) Episode 19: Kobe Beef (神戸牛)

 On my second last day at Japan, I took the train from Osaka to Kobe. The distance is short and it took around 20 minutes by train to reach Sannomiya Station (三宮駅).

One of my purpose to Kobe is to taste the famous Kobe beef. It was a little early as the restaurant opened at 11:30 am. So I went to the nearby Tokyu Hands to shop around.

Tokyu Hands is a one-stop department store selling home-improvement and lifestyle products, under the basement also stuffs to sustain disaster period.

I spot this interesting mug where you can pour the beer inside, and with one press on the handle, it will generate bubbles as if you pour it fresh from the bottle!

After almost 11:30, I went to one of the famous Kobe beef restaurant, Moriya. The restaurant had been in business since 1885.

My budget is tight, so I order the Moriya beef lunch set, which costs 5000++ Yen. The Moriya beef is the ancestor of Kobe beef. The bloodline is quite identical and was said taste very similar to Kobe beef.

I am honored to be the first customer entering the restaurant. After I placed my order, the chef started with necessary preparations.

A plate of salad was served for appetizer.

The chef will show you the beef and asked whether the beef is OK for you.

After the confirmation, the chef will start to cook the beef and the veggies on the hot plate.

The fat portions of the beef will be cut off during cooking, and the fat will not be wasted and reserved for later use.

The whole full set which include salads, beef with seasoning (salt, sauces, and wasabi), rice, pickles and Miso soup. Do not mistaken on the number of steaks on the plates, the rest are still on the hot plate.

The fats from the beef will be cooked together with the bean sprouts.

The steak and the Japanese rice is a heavenly combination. Personally I prefer to paste the steak with a little bit of salt.

How I consider a dish is good or bad is based on the mood and how I feel during and after the meal. My personal feeling after that, is great. Juicy, tender, nicely cook. The only drawback is the quantity.

After finished the meal, I went to this nearby Shinto Shrine called Ikuta Shrine (生田神社). It was built in 3rd century, one of the oldest shrine in Japan.

After taking half an hour rest in the Shinto Shrine, I was heading back to the train station and continue my journey to Arima Onsen (有馬温泉).

Information:
Moriya Hoten Kobe Beef Restaurant (モーリヤ 本店): 5 minutes walk from Sannomiya Station

Lunch: 11:30am ~ 3:00pm

Dinner: 3:00pm ~ 9:30 pm

http://www.mouriya.co.jp/en/head/index.html

Leave a Reply

